Promoting Educational Opportunity in New England

The Claiborne Pell Award

The Claiborne Pell Award is established to recognize those rare individuals whose pioneering leadership and vision have made an indelible mark on the struggle for equal educational opportunity. It was Pell's leadership and vision that led to the creation of the Basic Educational Opportunity Grant (BEOG). Now called the Pell Grant, the BEOG was designed to be the backbone of the federal government's financial aid program. Pell recognized that the future of the country was dependent on an investment in the development of low income students.

The Pell Award is given to individuals whose work the President and the Board of Directors believe is breaking new ground in the effort to provide greater educational opportunity to people from low income backgrounds. The Board considers the following criteria:

  • Vision - conceiving innovative future solutions to problems.
  • Leadership - is able to bring together a broad based coalition to implement solutions
  • Broad Impact - large numbers of students are effected by the individual's work; institutions are also impacted.

Nominations for the Pell Award will be made by members of the Board of Directors. Awards will be given only in those years where the Board is able to identify an appropriate recipient.

Recipients include:

Senator Claiborne Pell

1990 Domenico Petruceli
1991 Cong. Silvo Conte
1992 Cong. William Ford
1993 Dr. Arnold Mitchem
1997 Brenda Dann Messier
1998 Ann Coles
1999 Maureen Hoyler
2000 Dr. Robert Belle
2002 Christopher Dodd
2003 Paul Spraggins
2004 Sen. Edward Kennedy
2005 Sen. Susan Collins
2006 Sen. James Jeffords
2008 Sargent Shriver
2010 Dr. Charles Desmond
2011 Julia Tower
2012 Sen. Bernie Sanders
2013 Stan Salett
2016 Dr. Joan Becker
2017 Cong. Tom Cole
2019 David Megquier
2020 Dr. Maria D. Martinez
2021 Dr. Miguel Cardona
2022 Sen. Patrick Leahy
2024 Dr. Jerry Lewis

Shirley Chisholm Award

The Shirley Chisholm Award was founded in 1983 to recognize individuals who have demonstrated outstanding commitment and active support for the clients served by TRIO Programs. Former Congresswoman Chisholm was a strong and active national advocate for TRIO programs during her tenure in the House of Representatives. This award has enabled our association to recognize the contributions and support of individuals outside the TRIO community.

Previous award recipients have included:

1983 Cong. Samuel Gejdenson
1984 Sen. Robert Stafford
1985 Sen. Claiborne Pell
1986 Cong. Silvo Conte
1987 Sen. Lowell Weicker
1988 Sen. George Mitchell
1989 Mr. Richard Gerue
1990 Cong. Louis Stokes
1991 Mr. Thomas Wolanin
1992 Mr. David Evans
1993 Cong. Jack Reed
1994 Mr. Edward Elmendorf
1995 Sen. James Jeffords
1996 Mr. Charles Bunting
1997 Sen. Edward Kennedy
1998 Sen. Christopher Dodd
1999 Sen. Susan Collins
2000 Thomas G. Mortenson
2001 Jane Oates
2002 Cong. Patrick Kennedy
2003 Cong. Bernie Sanders
2004 Cong. John Tierney
2005 Cong. Michael Michaud
2006 Sen. Lincoln D. Chafee
2007 Vermont Governor James H. Douglas
2008 Cong. Rosa DeLauro
2009 Carol Shea Porter
2010 Cong. Jim McGovern
2011 Sen. Olympia Snowe
2012 Cong. Gwen Moore
2014 Sen. Chris Murphy
2015 Sen. Jeanne Shaheen
2016 Sen. Elizabeth Warren, Esq.
2017 Sen. Angus King
2018 Sen. Patrick Leahy
2020 Cong. Joe Courtney
2021 Sen. Maggie Hassan
2022 Cong. Katherine Clark
2023 Katie Brown
2024 Sen. Peter Welsh

Marian Belgrave - Howard Award

Marian Belgrave - Howard served as the first President of the New England Association of Educational Opportunity Program Personnel, NEAEOPP, (now the New England Educational Opportunity Association, NEOA), in 1976. This award is given to individuals for their "inspiring and enduring contributions toward the achievement of NEAEOPP's (NEOA's) mission and toward the expansion of equal educational opportunity."

1991 Joan Becker
1999 Jerry Ellis
2000 Diane Saunders
2001 Donald Vickers
2002 Pam Boisvert
2003 Tom Putnam
2004 Blenda Wilson
2005 Dr. Clantha Carrigan McCurdy
2006 John Nazarian
2007 Shelley Saunders
2008 Len Lamberti
2009 Joe Costa
2010 Peter Budryk
2011 Alan Glotzer
2012 Donna Thompson
2013 Robert "Sigh" Searles
2014 Monica Sargent
2015 Alan Parks
2016 Mike Dennehy
2017 Carolyn Julian
2018 Linda Shiller
2019 Nancy Schwartz
2020 Robert Brown
2021 Elaine Leavitt
2022 Kristi Pierce
2023 Darylen Cote
2024 Dianne Griggs

This site was last updated on 01/29/2024. Copyright © 2024 New England Educational Opportunity Association

This website secured by PositiveSSL