NEOA LogoPromoting Educational Opportunity in New England  

NEOA Arnold L. Mitchem Leadership Institute

As part of its mission to provide professional development opportunities for members of the TRiO and educational opportunity community in New England, the New England Educational Opportunity Association (NEOA) began offering a year-long Leadership Institute in 1998-99. The Leadership Institute accepts people with varying years of experience in TRiO/EOPs: mid-career professionals who have been with TRiO/EOPs for a number of years and are looking for a reinvigorating professional development experience and emerging leaders who may be newer to our programs but have demonstrated their motivation and commitment through work within their state.

The selection committee has selected a class of leaders for 2014-15 who have indicated their energy and commitment through work with their programs and maybe with their state associations. (Their names will be posted here as soon as the final enrollment commitments have been made.) The combination of experienced and emerging professionals provide an exciting and challenging year-long Institute. The Leadership Institute convenes three times each year that the Institute operates, and provides participants the opportunity to develop greater expertise and skill as leaders in the field and to enhance their ability to expand educational opportunities for the students with whom they work. The aim of the Institute is to provide participants and the programs they serve with a strong and effective core of leadership theory and skills.

The Leadership Institute runs once every two years, and will complete its 13th year in 2015.

Leadership Institute 2015 class

Additional Leadership Institute Information

LI Brochure (PDF)

Past Leadership Institute Participants

What do past LI participants have to say about LI?

Leadership Institute 2014-2015 Application Materials - please submit your materials by July 15, 2014

Application (PDF)

Leadership Institute Yearbooks

2012-2013 (PDF)

2010-2011 (PDF)

2008-2009 (PDF)